On Terror, Tyranny and Cowardice

On Monday in Boston, we were assaulted by two bombings carried out by unknown assailants for unknown reasons. This stealth act of terrorism, perpetrated on unsuspecting, peaceful and innocent civilians needs to be called out for what it is: cowardice.

On Wednesday in the United States Senate, we were assaulted by the tyranny of the National Rifle Association when forty-five sycophant Senators voted against background checks for gun purchases and transfers for reasons that they can neither articulate nor defend without deceit or deflection.

Today, Thursday April 18, 2013, is the anniversary of the day when two hundred and thirty-eight years ago men of courage stood up against tyranny at the Battles of Lexington and Concord. Two hundred and thirty-eight years ago today, a handful of determined farmers standing in for hundreds of thousands of their fellow citizens fought against a tyrant that neither represented nor honored the interests of the people.

Yesterday, forty-five senators grossly dishonored the spirit of that first Patriot’s Day. Yesterday, forty-five senators buckled to the tyranny of the National Rifle Association, and refused to fight for the interests of the 90% of the American people who support background checks as a measure to guard against guns falling into the hands of criminals and terrorists. Yesterday, forty-five senators betrayed their duty to represent their constituents and chose instead to succumb to the tyranny of the NRA representing not the American people but gun manufacturers and arms dealers.

The “no” vote by these forty-five senators needs to be called out for what it is: cowardice.

As yet, we have no names or motive to attach to the cowards responsible for the carnage in Boston. But we do have the names of each and every one of the senators whose shameful votes yesterday will contribute to the continued carnage made possible by the unfettered sale and distribution of guns and assault weapons to individuals with no precautions legislated for background checks.

Should you chose to voice your outrage at their betrayal of the values of representative government for which American patriots have fought and sacrificed for two hundred and thirty-eight years, here are the twitter handles of those cowardly senators:

Sen. Lamar Alexander (R-Tenn.) — @SenAlexander

Sen. Kelly Ayotte (R-N.H.) — @KellyAyotte

Sen. John Barrasso (R-Wyo.) — @SenJohnBarrasso

Sen. Max Baucus (D-Mont.) — @MaxBaucus

Sen. Mark Begich (D-Alaska) — @SenatorBegich

Sen. Roy Blunt (R-Mo.) — @RoyBlunt

Sen. John Boozman (R-Ark.) — @JohnBoozeman

Sen. Richard Burr (R-N.C.) — @SenatorBurr

Sen. Saxby Chambliss (R-Ga.) — @SaxbyChambliss

Sen. Dan Coats (R-Ind.) — @SenDanCoats

Sen. Tom Coburn (R-Okla.) — @TomCoburn

Sen. Thad Cochran (R-Miss.) — @SenThadCochran

Sen. Bob Corker (R-Tenn.) — @SenBobCorker

Sen. Jon Cornyn (R-Texas) — @JohnCornyn

Sen. Mike Crapo (R-Idaho) — @MikeCrapo

Sen. Ted Cruz (R-Texas) — @SenTedCruz

Sen. Mike Enzi (R-Wyo.) — @SenatorEnzi

Sen. Deb Fischer (R-Neb.) — @SenatorFischer

Sen. Jeff Flake (R-Ariz.) — @JeffFlake

Sen. Lindsey Graham (R-S.C.) — @GrahamBlog

Sen. Chuck Grassley (R-Iowa) — @ChuckGrassley

Sen. Orrin Hatch (R-Utah) — @SenOrrinHatch

Sen. Heidi Heitkamp (D-N.D.) — @SenatorHeitkamp

Sen. Dean Heller (R-Nev.) — @SenDeanHeller

Sen. John Hoeven (R-N.D.) — @SenJohnHoeven

Sen. James Inhofe (R-Okla.) — @jiminhofe

Sen. Johnny Isakson (R-Ga.) — @SenatorIsakson

Sen. Mike Johanns (R-Neb.) — @Mike_Johanns

Sen. Ron Johnson (R-Wis.) — @SenRonJohnson

Sen. Mike Lee (R-Utah) — @SenMikeLee

Sen. Mitch McConnell (R-Ky.) — @McConnellPress

Sen. Jerry Moran (R-Kan.) — @JerryMoran

Sen. Lisa Murkowski (R-Alaska) — @lisamurkowski

Sen. Rand Paul (R-Ky.) — @SenRandPaul

Sen. Rob Portman (R-Ohio) — @robportman

Sen. Mark Pryor (D-Ark.) — @SenMarkPryor

Sen. Jim Risch (R-Idaho) — @SenatorRisch

Sen. Pat Roberts (R-Kan.) — @SenPatRoberts

Sen. Marco Rubio (R-Fla.) — @marcorubio

Sen. Tim Scott (R-S.C.) — @SenatorTimScott

Sen. Jeff Sessions (R-Ala.) — @SenatorSessions

Sen. Richard Shelby (R-Ala.) — @SenShelbyPress

Sen. John Thune (R-S.D.) — @SenJohnThune

Sen. David Vitter (R-La.) — @DavidVitter

Sen. Roger Wicker (R-Miss.) — @SenatorWicker

Related Readings:

“Shame On You!”: Senate Rejects Gun Background Check Compromise

WATCH: President Obama Slams ‘Shameful Day For Washington’ After Senate Kills Gun Bill

Catholic bishops: Background check vote shows a ‘failure in moral leadership’